Who top-scored for their teams in league stage of IPL 2020?

Just like previous seasons, in IPL 2020 too, there were batsmen who outdid their counterparts to become the highest-scorers for their teams.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

The ongoing 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) turned out to be the most competitive edition in the 13-year history with every franchise fighting tooth and nail till the last game of the league stage to claim a spot in the second stage of the league. Though we have our top four teams in the form of Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Capitals (DC), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), the viewers witnessed an action-packed performance from every player of all the eight franchises.

The mainstays of the batting unit served utmost entertainment to the fans with their scintillating performances with the willow. Just like previous seasons, in IPL 2020 too, there were batsmen who outdid their counterparts to become the highest-scorers for their teams. While the list has a few expected names, there are surprise elements too in the form of uncapped or debutants leading their teams from the front.

The Orange cap holder KL Rahul has been brilliant with the bat for Kings XI Punjab. The right-hander accumulated 670 runs in 14 fixtures at an average of 55.83 and a strike rate of 129.34. With his highest score of unbeaten 132, KL Rahul holds the record of the highest individual score for an Indian batsman in IPL.

Devdutt Padikkal is the highest run-getter for RCB

The Orange Army has the captain David Warner as their leading run-scorer with 529 runs in 14 fixtures. The opening batsman has smashed four half-centuries at a strike rate of 136.69 and average of 44.08. Shikhar Dhawan, on the other hand, is leading the charts for Capitals with 525 runs under his belt in 14 games.

The Bangalore outfit boasts of batsmen like Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers on their side, however, they were in for a surprise as their leading run-getter is the debutant Devdutt Padikkal. The South African duo of Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock also were exceptional with the bat as they consistently scored runs for their respective franchises and emerged as their leading run-scorers.

For Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Shubman Gill is the winner with 440 runs in 14 fixtures at a strike rate of 117.96 and an average of 33.84. The wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson is leading the charts for Rajasthan Royals with 375 runs in his kitty in 14 fixtures.

Team-wise top-scorers in the league stage in IPL 2020

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘1506336022995127’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”);
fbq(‘track’, ‘ViewContent’);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *