BCCI joins hands with Twitter to launch seven custom emojis ahead of Women’s T20 Challenge

It is happening for the first time that an Indian women’s sports league is getting emojis of its own on Twitter.

Smriti Mandhana
Smriti Mandhana. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Women’s T20 Challenge is all set to kick from 4th November in UAE. Ahead of the upcoming exciting league, the Board of Control for Cricket in India has joined hands with Twitter to launch seven new custom emojis for the league. The emojis will be related to teams and their respective captains. The three teams under the guidance of Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, and Harmanpreet Kaur, will be fighting for the titles.

Fans can use these emojis by tweeting with the following hashtags: #MithaliRaj or #Mithali, #Harmanpreet, or #Harman, #Smriti or #SM18, #WomenT20Challenge, #Velocity, #Supernovas, and #Trailblazers. It is happening for the first time that an Indian women’s sports league is getting emojis of its own on Twitter. It happened in 2017 when Mithali Raj became the first Indian woman cricketer to receive an emoji during the Women’s World Cup.

The new experience is set to begin with the usage of these emojis, and fans can show their instant support to their favourite teams and players by tweeting with the above-mentioned hashtags. It will also allow people to get involved in live conversations. The Women’s T20 Challenge will be stretched for the duration of six days from November 4 to November 10. All the matches will be played in Sharjah between three teams namely, Trailblazers, Supernovas, and Velocity.

The first matches of Women’s T20 Challenge to be played between Supernovas and Velocity

Ace woman cricketer Mithali Raj will be leading the Velocity while Smriti Mandhana will take the charge of Trailblazers. In the same manner, Supernovas will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur. Kaur’s team has won the title both times since the inception of the Women’s T20 league. All the matches are set to begin from 7:30 PM IST except the second match. The second match between Velocity and Trailblazers will kick off from 3:30 PM IST.

On 11 October, the Board of Control for Cricket in India came up with squads along with the schedule for the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge. The finalists of last year Supernovas and, Velocity will lock horns with each other in the season opener. Meanwhile, the men’s IPL is also on in UAE which will get concluded on November 10.

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘1506336022995127’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”);
fbq(‘track’, ‘ViewContent’);

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *